Photograph: Werner Schmidt

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Rowing Highlights Not To Miss

We are now in the month of March, which means that we are close to two of the spring rowing highlights on this side of the pond. On Saturday, 20 March there will be Induction ceremonies at The National Rowing Foundation’s Hall of Fame at Mystic Seaport Museum. The celebratory reception and dinner will be held in the River Room at the museum’s restaurant, Latitude (former Seamen’s Inne), beginning at 5:30 p.m.

The eighteen 2010 Inductees are: Jason Read, Wyatt Allen, Chris Ahrens, Joseph Hansen, Matt Deakin, Dan Beery, Beau Hoopman, Bryan Volpenhein, Peter Cipollone, Mike Teti (Teti will be further recognized for his prowess as U.S. Rowing’s head men's coach), Karen Kraft Rigsby, Missy Schwen Ryan, Anne Marden, Amy Fuller, Tom Bohrer, Andy Sudduth, Jim Dietz, and Anita DeFrantz.

The next day, on Sunday, 21 March the Friends of Rowing History, the National Rowing Foundation, and Mystic Seaport Museum will organise the popular Rowing History Forum, also in the River Room at Latitude. Special guest speaker will be Kent Mitchell, U.S. Olympic oarsman 1960 and 1964. Other presentations will be made by renowned rowing historians Thomas E. Weil, Christopher Dodd, and Bill Miller. This event begins at 9:30 a.m. More details and information about the Inductees, the Inductee Dinner, and the Rowing History Forum, you will find by clicking here, and on Rowing News's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment